| View previous topic :: View next topic |
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:23 pm Post subject: Spurious Signature URLS |
|
|
|
Can someone investigate and explain how someone appears to be adding URLs to the signatures of my members? The most recent one is:
http://48539SI.hostedniche.com
One of my members has found this out:
"This person claims to be involved in the "Site design coding and mantinence." (sic) of both myfreebulletinboard.com and hostedniche.com.
http://www.ecwilliams.net/portfolio.cfm"
Whoever is doing this has only selected three of my small number of members. We accept that as a free service, some adverts are necessary but it is a bit bad if someone is hacking into user accounts and adding things. Please let me know what is going on. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
| I'd REALLY appreciate a reply to this. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
| Any news? A response? PLEASE! |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
admin Advanced Member
Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 2117
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
Are these members spam bots? Which forum is yours? _________________ Please use the search function. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
| So... any further news on this one? It makes it look as if there are some security issues with this service. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
OK, I went through and deleted all the spurious websites and signatures yesterday and now they have re-appeared. I really would appreciate a response on this as it is unacceptable and implies there is some sort of security breach with this service.
My messageboard is:
http://www.myfreebulletinboard.com/f2/index.php?mforum=pov |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
admin Advanced Member
Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 2117
|
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
It is not a security breach. I wrote a script to update all unmoderated spam on all boards to remove their links and replace them with mine. There is obviously an error in my logic. I am removing the script. I apologize for the inconvenience. _________________ Please use the search function. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
tfb1962 Advanced Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
| Thank you! |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
|
|