Spurious Signature URLS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    support.myfreebulletinboard.com Forum Index // PHPBB Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:23 pm    Post subject: Spurious Signature URLS Reply with quote
Can someone investigate and explain how someone appears to be adding URLs to the signatures of my members? The most recent one is:

http://48539SI.hostedniche.com

One of my members has found this out:

"This person claims to be involved in the "Site design coding and mantinence." (sic) of both myfreebulletinboard.com and hostedniche.com.

http://www.ecwilliams.net/portfolio.cfm"

Whoever is doing this has only selected three of my small number of members. We accept that as a free service, some adverts are necessary but it is a bit bad if someone is hacking into user accounts and adding things. Please let me know what is going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'd REALLY appreciate a reply to this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any news? A response? PLEASE!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Advanced Member


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 2117

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are these members spam bots? Which forum is yours?
_________________
Please use the search function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
My board is:

http://www.myfreebulletinboard.com/f2/pov.html

We have a strict policy on membership and it is not an open board. All members have to be approved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
So... any further news on this one? It makes it look as if there are some security issues with this service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, I went through and deleted all the spurious websites and signatures yesterday and now they have re-appeared. I really would appreciate a response on this as it is unacceptable and implies there is some sort of security breach with this service.

My messageboard is:
http://www.myfreebulletinboard.com/f2/index.php?mforum=pov
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Advanced Member


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 2117

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is not a security breach. I wrote a script to update all unmoderated spam on all boards to remove their links and replace them with mine. There is obviously an error in my logic. I am removing the script. I apologize for the inconvenience.
_________________
Please use the search function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfb1962
Advanced Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Post new topic   Reply to topic    support.myfreebulletinboard.com Forum Index // PHPBB Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

alexisBlue v1.2 // Theme Created By: Andrew Charron // Icons in Part By: Travis Carden
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group